Wicca Learning Sources

Learning to become a Wiccan is actually a little difficult depending on where you live. If you live in a small town like me, there are no covens, no get together or groups. All I have are books, books, books and some web. Now if you live somewhere where there are actually people, than I would suggest finding a coven. Covens are not for everybody, but they have a lot of information and most of the time (depending on the coven) they love sharing that information with you. I have personally emailed or messaged covens all over the US and even in the UK. I have been Wiccan for 9 years and I still look for guidance and I still get stuck with questions I can’t seem to find the answers to. Don’t be afraid to reach out.

I am a Solitary Practitioner. Although I often consult High Priestesses from covens all over the world, I still prefer to practice to myself. I am what you would call a rebel without a cause. I prefer to set my own rules, rituals and prayers. Not saying covens are bad, in fact if there had been a coven when I had first started out, I would have joined. I would not have stayed, but it would of been nice to have a teacher (a little easier too). So instead of a High priestess teaching me the ways, I had and still do lean on Scott Cunningham. A staple to anyone practicing Wicca. These are my go to books and have been for many years. Start with the green and than move on to the blue. Don’t read them and then decide to move on. Read them more and more and you will soak it in better and better.
There are other authors that I have enjoyed like Lisa Chamberlain and D.J. Conway. But I highly recommend reading Scott Cunninghams books first. I have put some book suggestions and their links in the gallery below

Books are a good source of information when starting out. Another good source of information if you are careful, are websites. Just make sure you that you research the websites. If they ask you to pay, move on. 90% of what they teach you will find out for free somewhere else. Below are some websites that I often visit either to purchase something or when I am in need of some quick facts. Like when I need to know what a certain incense or flower means.

  1. https://www.13moons.com
    • This website not only gives you FREE information but sells useful merch that you might need in the future if you decide to practice Wicca.
  2. https://www.eartisans.net/
    • This website has a list of FREE blogs that are pretty informative and they also sell merch as well
  3. https://www.themagickalcat.com/default.asp
    • This website is like a huge encyclopedia for all thing Wicca and best of all it FREE.

These are just some resources you can use to enter the world of Wicca or help further you knowledge. Please subscribe below for more post about practicing Wicca! Thank You

Leave a comment